Auntie Sceb

Paper crafting my way to an apocalypse scrapbook with some knitting sewing and cooking thrown in.

Banana and Date Loaf – Something is Wrong!!

on March 19, 2015

The other day I made mince pie cupcakes.  They were tasty but I did think the batter was quite stodgy.  Today I made a banana and date loaf which I’ve made loads of times before AND the batter was really stodgy.  I had doubled the quanities to make two so I thought my bananas were a bit small so added another, then some milk until it looked about right.

I just tried it.  Now I’m not keen on warm cakes but it did seem a bit raw and not very sweet.  I’m not sure if I missed something out, if my scales are broken or if my eggs are too small.  I’ll have to try it again tomorrow when it’s cold.  I was going to take one to work but I’m not sure anyone will want to eat it!!!

Anyway they look nice.

Banana and date loaf made by Auntie Sceb

Anyway when things aren’t going wrong this loaf is tasty.  I got the recipe from ‘Quick and Easy Traditional Cakes’

100g butter (I’ve used margarine which works fine too but needs to be firm to make bread crumbs)

225g self raising flour

75 caster sugar (I have replaced with sweetner in the past which was ok but a little dry)

125g chopped dates (if I don’t have dates I’ve used currants/raisins which has worked well)

2 bananas mashed

2 eggs lightly beaten

2 tbsps honey

Rub the flour into butter to make breadcrumbs. Add all the other ingredients.  Bake for 160 C for an hour.  I check after 45 mins and cover with foil if not cooked through or take out.

Usually tastes really good!!

Leave a Reply

