Auntie Sceb

Paper crafting my way to an apocalypse scrapbook with some knitting sewing and cooking thrown in.

Brain Fog

on February 19, 2015

What’s brain fog?  Sufferers of ME/CFS use this term to describe how their brain doesn’t quite work as it should.  Forgetting things, unable to understand things, unable to calculate things, unable to find the correct word, use the wrong word, or think the right word but say a different word (dysphasia).  I used to love a lovely novel or TV programme with twists and turns.  Now I read ‘easy read’ or ‘trash’ and love reruns because if I watch something new it’s not until I watch it about three times I get it! Probabaly out of all the symptoms this one frustrates me the most .

I was going to talk about another problem but as brain fog just effected me cooking dinner that trumped the other issue.

Just mashed my potatoes, drained my veg, got out my sausages (Quorn of course) – still frozen.  The oven was switched off.  I have no idea if I ever turned it on.  So I had a lovely dinner of mash, carrots, peas and gravy!!

Don’t worry if this happens to you and you don’t have ME/CFS it doesn’t mean you do, it does happen to us all at some point.  But with ME/CFS it happens a lot!!  Just today my 13 year old nephew was laughing at the words coming out of my mouth which were all the wrong way round thankfully my sister knows me well so understood me anyway so we had a giggle and a lovely cup of tea and didn’t think about it anymore!

The internet has it advantages help with this condition.  You can write something, save it, write some more.  Spelling mistakes are highlighted and can be corrected.  Some errors will still get through but it’s still a lot easier than talking!

The edit buttons is also very handy!!

Leave a Reply

